Researchers from Gramazio Kohler Research and the Agile and Dexterous Robotics Lab of ETH Zurich were awarded the Best Automation Paper Award at this year’s IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA) from 21 to 25 of May in Brisbane, Australia.

The ICRA conference is held annually under the patronage of the IEEE Robotics & Automation Society. Established in 1984, the international conference is one of the most important scientific conferences in the field of robotics and automation. The annual Best Paper Award in Automation annually honors the best paper on automation presented at the conference.

International recognition for interdisciplinary research
NCCR members Manuel Lussi, Timothy Sandy, Kathrin Dörfler, Norman Hack, Fabio Gramazio, Matthias Kohler and Jonas Buchli received this year’s award for their paper “Accurate and Adaptive In situ Fabrication of an Undu-lated Wall Using an On-Board Visual Sensing System”. In their interdisciplinary paper, the researchers from the field of architecture and robotics present the system they developed for the on-site fabrication of the full-scale, load-bearing and doubly-curved steel reinforced Mesh Mould wall. The wall was fabricated as part of the DFAB HOUSE project on the NEST building of Empa and Eawag using the mobile construction robot In situ Fabricator.

Continuing success for the NCCR Digital Fabrication at ICRA
This year’s award is the second recognition for the NCCR’s interdisciplinary research in the field of digital fabrication in architecture and construction at ICRA. Last year, NCCR members Fadri Furrer, Martin Wermelinger, Hironori Yoshida, Fabio Gramazio, Matthias Kohler, Roland Siegwart, and Marco Hutter were honoured with the IEEE ICRA Best Student Paper Award for their paper on “Autonomous Robotic Stone Stacking with Online Next Best Object Target Pose Planning”.

The NCCR congratulates the whole team on their success and is looking forward to future research presentations at ICRA.

Image caption: NCCR members Manuel Lussi (middle) and Tim Sandy (right) receiving the award on behalf of the whole research team in Brisbane.
Image credits: Manuel Lussi